Memories of Cooking Fails – August 17, 2016

Starbucks Cranberry Bliss Bar
Starbucks Cranberry Bliss Bar

I began cooking when I was 16. That year, I’d decided to take Home Ec as an elective. And when I was at home, Dad started me off by frying steaks and pork chops.

The thing is though, my steaks usually came out like “burnt offerings”. They were tough and hard to chew. But I’ve made cooking blunders during the more recent years.

One time, I was making ramen for my roommate and myself. I was seasoning it with red pepper flakes. I didn’t realize it, but the shaker had come off in the canister’s lid. Instead of a sprinkle, I wound up dumping half of the canister into the cooking pot. It was so spicy, but I didn’t want to throw it out. So I dumped a lot of ranch dressing into the ramen to make it bearable. It was rather yucky, but we ate it.

Another time, I tried “tweaking” this diabetic brownie recipe. I substituted Splenda for the sugar. The brownies came out hard, like hockey pucks, and they were bitter from the cocoa powder. But my roommate ate them, since it was still chocolate.

There was one happy cooking blunder though. I was making a batch of cloned Starbucks Cranberry Bliss Bars for a friend. I misread the recipe, thinking that cream cheese was supposed to go into the batter, so that’s what I did. After I looked at the recipe again, I realized I’d made a mistake. But I continued making the recipe. The cake portion of the bars was rich and heavy, but it tasted pretty darned good. My friend, Beth, enjoyed them as well. I made them for her and her husband for when they returned from Italy.

Leave a Reply

